Hair: Faux Undercut

PhotoGrid_1392327563205

 

The best part about growing out a bob is when you can finally pin it up! I was inspired by Chris Mcmillan’s article in Allure about 80’s throwback hair where he featured a gorgeous faux undercut look. I rushed my version and ended up with a disheveled pompadour or a very messy victory roll, but I love it!

I felt super tall, and a little bit weird all day, which means I’m pushing my style boundaries (in a good way). I kept makeup light to balance all that drama on my head.

It’s super easy! Create a part on each side anywhere from the temple to the brow arch, and gather that hair into a ponytail on top of your head. Slick the remaining hair into a super tight low ponytail and secure with an elastic. I used a clear one. Twist that low pony and pin it against the back of your head almost like a tiny french twist. Now you can let the top hair out, and depending on your length and texture you can add a few curls or pin a few random pieces to create height. I did 2 or 3 mini victory rolls, rolling sections away from my face, pinning them down, and then messing them up. Add lots of hairspray, and voila! A very fun style for 2nd or 3rd day dirty hair.

This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hair: Faux Undercut

  1. Sugarandshoelaces says:

    Wow! I absolutely LOVE your hair!! I’m going to have to try this out!

Leave a Reply

